Friends: Not by Choice but by Chance

If you had to come up with one question, the answer to which would determine whether or not you could be friends with a person you’ve just met, what would it be? What would the right answer be?

I had to re-read the daily prompt three or four times before I realize what it meant.

I remember vividly how The Grown Ups would always tell us this: “Don’t talk to strangers.” It seems like the Golden Rule for a little kid not to get caught in a dangerous situation. However, I ignored that rule. Simply because, I always find it hard to resist that temptation of striking a conversation with a stranger. Whether it’s in a bus or in a bookstore, if there’s one thing that interests me in that place, I’ll look for someone to share it with. I would rather talk to that stranger than talk to myself (who wouldn’t?).

So the question I would ask to someone I’ve just met would have been related to that specific situation or place or whatever is really on my mind at the moment, nothing in particular.

To me, the first question doesn’t matter. What matters most is how will that person respond to that question. And I believe, finding a friend doesn’t happen by choice, it is by chance. Chance that the person, of all people, is there with you at that moment.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/litmus-test/

4 thoughts on “Friends: Not by Choice but by Chance

Let me hear your thoughts, too. :)

