LSS with Wake Me Up by Avicii (The Made-Up Story Behind)

zzzzzzzzzz

Everyday, there’s this one song that I keep on listening and never get tired of. You know the Last Song Syndrome (LSS), right? That term was created to describe an inclination in singing a song repeatedly for a day, or a week or whatever depending on how much a person likes the song. (Feels weird providing definition.) Sometimes, even if you don’t like the song, you still find yourself singing (or humming) just because you heard it from someone. Like an addiction.

Since I love music and listening to songs, I always end up getting this LSS. So, for my blog, I wanted to share the songs that I get an LSS with. I’ll try to make it a series because it happens a lot.

For today, I have listened to this song for, maybe, 20 times already – Wake Me Up by Avicii. I would like to reflect on each two lines of the lyrics.

Feeling my way through the darkness
Guided by a beating heart

Such a good way to start a song, the same way how a novel about ‘a girl who is still searching for her purpose’ would be written. She’s not sure of what to do, where she’ll go, or if she’s doing the right thing or not. It may seem cliché to say this but she’s just, well, “following her heart”.

I can’t tell where the journey will end
But I know where to start

Even when she’s really helpless, and she have no idea about the future or if the future is still something to look forward to – she wants to keep going. I can feel the boldness and courage in her.

They tell me I’m too young to understand
They say I’m caught up in a dream

This really struck her, “Highly ambitious, that girl is”, they would say. People would tell her she’s not doing the right thing, that she will be doomed if she decide on her own. What she thinks is the best for her, nobody approved. It’s hard to live in a world where people will judge you, even before you’re just about to start something new. Nothing will make them satisfied, unless they see you crying because of defeat.

Well life will pass me by if I don’t open up my eyes
Well that’s fine by me

She will never surrender, even if it means you will experience down-times. Even if life will force her to stop for a while. She’s fine with it. She knows that life is not about how fast you get there. It’s the journey on getting there that matters.

*chorus*

So wake me up when it’s all over
When I’m wiser and I’m older
All this time I was finding myself
And I didn’t know I was lost

*tut tut* [ Leave this blank. ]

I tried carrying the weight of the world
But I only have two hands

In those particular moments where she really needs strength, she seems to be invariably at her weakest. How come?

Hope I get the chance to travel the world
But I don’t have any plans

She wanted to do a lot of things. Be the Jack (or Jane) of All Trades. She wanted to explore. See the things beyond her horizon.  Exceed her limits, . But, will it be possible? Even with Lack of Resources? Of Opportunities? Of Time? There are many obstacles she must have to faced.

Wish that I could stay forever this young
Not afraid to close my eyes

She would love to be free of any anxiety, whether it’d be about getting old or facing death. She knows that life is handed in for you to live. So live at your fullest.

Life’s a game made for everyone
And love is the prize

Ahh… Love. Who wouldn’t risk anything for love?

Jill ♥

2 thoughts on “LSS with Wake Me Up by Avicii (The Made-Up Story Behind)

Let me hear your thoughts, too. :)

