I Will Forgive Her, No Matter What

Someone’s left you a voicemail message, but all you can make out are the last words: “I’m sorry. I should’ve told you months ago. Bye.” Who is it from, and what is this about?

Today’s Daily Prompt was really tempting, how can you not answer with such thought-provoking prompt? So here’s my take.

Firstly, voicemail is not popular here in the Philippines. I don’t know if some individuals have this option on their phone when you try to call them, but in most cases, if you try to call someone and nobody answers, then  it’s a “Missed Call”. End of story. No blah-blah-blah-is-not-available-at-the-moment-after-the-tone-leave-your-message kind of thing.

So for me to answer, let’s say that we do have that option. Always. Just imagine I have been listening to a lot of voicemail ever since.

Okay? Okay. After contacting an expert and extracting the words that was not clear in the message, I was able to write down the whole message and share it with you. It’s from my sister, Janine.

I bought you another pair of shoes. Mom said you have been paying a lot of fees in school while you’re supposed to be saving up. I reckon you have no time to buy yourself a pair of shoes because of this. So apart form the first two pairs that I gave you, here’s another one. You might be wondering why I’m being generous. The truth is, I was the one who gave your notebook to Mom when she needs a paper. To light a fire. To burn the dried leaves in the yard. I didn’t know it was your precious 10 year-old journal. I’m sorry. I should’ve told you months ago. But to make up for my mistake, I’m giving you early Christmas gift. Bye.

I really laugh at this idea. Though the message was “made up”, the shoes was true. She already gave me two pairs last month. And last  Friday, when I went to our province to take the exam, my mother told me that ate Janine left me again a pair of shoes. According to her, she said that maybe I have no time to buy myself one.

Really sweet, right? My sister has always been like that. I remember, when we were still both in school, we have the same amount of money (or allowance) everyday but I will go to her if I need to buy food but no money left. She will give me hers. Even if it means she will not be taking her break. (Of course, I only realized this when we grew up.) Once, I even heard her defending me to a boy who bullied me when I was in 3rd Grade. I heard her talked to the boy and told sort of things just to stop that boy from bullying me.

I love my sister. Not because we share the same blood, or that we live in the same house for years. But because she cares for me. And I’ve always felt that good feeling of being loved from her actions. We’re not the type of sisters who gossips about people. We don’t even share each others love life, if we have any. We don’t talk about our lives most of the time because we’re almost separated most of the time. She had to work there, I had to live here. There were many reasons. But still, she never failed to be a sister to me.

So if ever she did something wrong to me, even if she admits that she’s really the one who is behind the fate of my journal’s end. I will forgive her, no matter what.

Hoping for the best,

Jill ♥

2 thoughts on “I Will Forgive Her, No Matter What

Let me hear your thoughts, too. :)

