The (Not So) Movie Review of the Assassination Games

Assassination_GamesI don’t typically watch this kind of action-packed movies. I was even surprised to hear myself laughing (and cursing) at some point watching this while I’m on a bus. You know, free movies for travelers.

Well, guess what? This is the first movie review for my blog! Exciting, right? No? Okay.

I just figured out I’ll keep on trying different things here and there to discover what I really liked. Try and try until you succeed, as the saying goes. Anyway, here’s the plot of the movie from Wikipedia :

Brazil (Jean-Claude Van Damme) is a contract killer, willing to take any job if the price is right. Flint (Scott Adkins) left the assassin game when a ruthless drug dealer’s brutal attack left his wife in a coma. When a contract is put out on the same cold-blooded drug dealer, both Brazil and Flint want him dead – one for the money, the other for revenge. With crooked Interpol agents and vicious members of the criminal underworld hot on their trail, these two assassins reluctantly join forces to quickly take out their target before they themselves are both terminated.

This is also the first time I’ve watched the actors. They were all new to me. What I like about the movie is the simplicity of how the characters portray emotions. It’s so effortless but it lingers. I wish I could put in some pictures here for my favorite part. When Flint was being tortured using wires connected to electricity. Electric shock type of torture, to be exact. He was picturing the day he and his wife got married and dancing and looking at each other to fight the pain. I felt it was the emotional-peak of the movie. I didn’t cry, of course. I’m on a bus, remember? In the front seat. So I managed my reactions so as not to disturb the driver and my fellow passengers.

However, it’s an action movie so you can’t expect me to just sit there and do nothing. So I giggled at some point with Flint and Brazil’s chemistry. They make a nice pair of assassins. The action at the end was what really amazed me. The noteworthy gun, which is synchronized with Flint’s phone using laser-something to target your opponent, that they’ve used at the end of the movie was really impressive. ( I can’t believe you can connect almost anything with your phone nowadays! )

https://i2.wp.com/image.tmdb.org/t/p/original/kKJeUWgVJYav1jP7UYKk7CPNcWq.jpg

Character-wise, Brazil has that get-out-of-my-way-or-I’ll-kill-you attitude in the beginning. So it’s a bit of a surprise in the middle that he has a soft side as well. He’s even playing the violin and has a multiple set of musical instruments in his luxury house hidden in an apartment building bordering austerity. He even had a turtle as a pet, which makes him even more humane than he really is. Being assassin and all. I didn’t expect him to have that other side of him as well.

Scott Adkins as Roland Flint

Flint, on the other hand, is the complete opposite of Brazil. He’s the what-you-see-is-what-you-get character. When his hyped for action, his really into it. But when it comes to his wife, he is so real, so explicit that you just wanted to be his friend. I never doubted for a moment he will get the revenge he needs.

As for the women in the movie, https://introducingjill.files.wordpress.com/2014/11/fa292-4.jpgOctober made me hesitant for her true identity. I even thought for a moment that maybe she’s working for the bad guys and just acting as a damsel-in-distress to get Brazil, but I was wrong. I regretted it when I saw her dead (brutally killed) body in Brazil’s bed. (Is this how you do a movie review?)

Anna, wife of Flint, spent most of the movie in bed so I really have not much to say except that she’s really beautiful. Especially on the flashback scene of their wedding. ( She’ll definitely pass as another version of Disney Princess Belle from Beauty and the Beast. Really. )

What’s more interesting in the cast is when I Googled about them, Anna turns out, is the daughter of Jean-Claude Van Damme himself!

Anyway, for the thrilling action and compassionate acting, I’ll give this movie 3.5 stars.

Hoping for the best,

Jill ♥

Let me hear your thoughts, too. :)

